Philippine Olympic Team London 2012

I remember it was 2004 when I first got addicted to watching Summer Olympics. It’s that time of the season again. I was so happy watching our fellow Filipinos wave as they parade at the London Olympics 2012 opening ceremony. Even my bossing was so happy he couldn’t help but cheer.

When I posted a video on Facebook, a classmate of mine reacted how poorly our athletes were supported this Olympic season.

frankly i feel sorry for the philippine athletes. imagine, 11 lang ata ang delegates ng philippines. haller!? 11 lang? sana naman ung government natin mag allot din ng tamang budget para sa sports di ba. lagi na lang kawawa ang mga pinoy. 😦

I tried to stay positive with my response.

Oo nga eh. Pero alam mo palagay ko hindi rin basta budget eh. Merong olympic qualifier kasi. Baka hindi tayo nakakapasok sa iba. Ewan ko lang. Oo nga eh. Ngayong may internet na sana mapromote na lalo yung sports at masuportahan yung athletes natin. Dadami na rin yan kung mag-umpisa tayong sumuporta. ^_^

However, I needed to know for myself so I investigated and found out a lot of things. Here’s the summary I created for my research.

Philippine Olympic Team Summary of Athlete Number, Stats, Country Leader and Facts
Year Athletes Country Leader Medals
1924 1 Leonard Wood US Insular Government
1928 4 Henry L. Stimson 1 US Insular Government
1932 8 Frank Murphy 3 US Insular Government
1936 28 Manuel L. Quezon 1 Commonwealth
1948 26 Elpidio Quirino
1952 25 Elpidio Quirino
1956 39 Ramon Magsaysay
1960 40 Carlos P. Garcia
1964 47 Diosdado Macapagal 1
1968 49 Ferdinand Marcos
1972 53 Ferdinand Marcos 12 days after Olympics, he declared Martial Law
1984 14 Ferdinand Marcos Martial Law
1988 19 Corazon Aquino 1 2 years after EDSA Revolution
1992 31 Fidel V. Ramos 1
1996 26 Fidel V. Ramos 1
2000 12 Joseph Estrada Evicted through EDSA Revolution 2
2004 20 Gloria-Macapagal Arroyo
2008 16 Gloria-Macapagal Arroyo Ano to teh?
2012 11 Benigno Aquino III Anyare PNoy? Bakit 11?

I realized that my classmate had every right to say that comment.

Anyare na PNoy? Bakit 11? Ano namang excuse mo ngayon? Paki-explain naman! Teka tatanungin ko na lang siguro si Tita Kris Aquino sa Twitter. Baka meron siyang explanation.

Anyway, while I await their much needed explanation, I know I would still continue to support our kababayan athletes. And because of my addiction, I listed their game schedule details. I will just add those whose games were already finished.

This is New Zealand Time by the way. Minus 4 hours to get Philippine Time. ^_^

Jessie Lacuna
July 30 Monday
Men’s 200m Freestyle
06:41 – Final

Hidilyn Diaz
July 30 Monday
Women’s 58kg
23:30 – Group B
02:30 – Group A

Brian Rosario
July 31 Tuesday
Men’s Skeet
20:00 – Qualification
01:00 – Finals

Mark Barriga
July 31 Tuesday
Men’s Light Fly (49kg)
00:30 * – Round of 32
07:30 * – Round of 32

Jasmine Alkhaldi
August 2 Thursday
Women’s 100m Freestyle
07:34 – Final

Tomohiko Hoshina
August 2 THursday
Men’s -100kg
20:30 * – Elimination Round of 64

Rene Herrera
August 5 Sunday
Men’s 3000m Steeplechase
08:25 – Final

Daniel Caluag
August 8 Wednesday
Men’s BMX
02:40 – Seeding Run

Marestella Torres
August 8 Wednesday
Women’s Long Jump
07:05 – Final

Anyare is the clipped word or Tagalog slang for “Anong nangyari?” (What happened?)


Published by


Just doing what I got to do.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s